The Department of Chemistry is one of the esteemed department in our college. It was established in 1954. The Department offers various courses B.Sc. (H) Chemistry, B.Sc. Appl. Phys. Sci. – Analytical Chemistry, B.Sc. Prog. Physical Sciences and M.Sc. Chemistry. The syllabus of Chemistry (H) balances Inorganic, Organic and Physical chemistry along with related fields like Physics and Mathematics. This allows students to opt for relevant specialized fields like Industrial chemistry, Analytical chemistry, Computer applications etc. The faculty of the department is very committed to the course of teaching chemistry and helping students achieve great heights in their life later on. The department has three lecture theatres and five laboratories. The Department has an academic society which organises chemistry seminars/conferences/workshops, festivals and visits to various industries, laboratories, institutes etc. These activities provide students a platform for interaction with the academicians and industrialists in the form of summer/innovation projects and educational trips. The department is keen in adapting new innovation techniques in learning and encourages students to take active part in research. Many faculty members are working on major projects funded by UGC/CSIR/DST-SERB etc. In all, the department tries to blend together core basics of chemistry with recent research to enhance the overall learning process.