## THE PLAYERS

## ANNUAL REPORT 2021-22

\* The state of uncertainty in the University calendar on account of the Coronavirus pandemic adversely affected The Players' schedules of training and performance in 2021-22. As a collaborative procedure that necessarily works through team-work and physical presence, our theatre was severely hampered by being forced into online engagement. The fact that we did not ever have a stabilized body of students to choose from on account of delays in the University admissions also hampered our work considerably.

Some good did come of these constraints, though. For the very first time in its history, The Players conducted an extensive online audition stretching over three weeks in August 2021, followed by a 10-day theatre workshop in September 2021. (We benefitted greatly here from lessons learnt in the online 10-day director's workshop conducted in April 2021.)

- \* During 2021-22, several scripts were analysed in detail to finalize the three stage plays to be done this year:
  - 1. Enda Walsh's 'Chatroom', directed by Harshini Misra and Maitri Banthia;
  - 2. Barrie Keeffe's 'SUS', in an adaptation in Hindi directed by Abhipsito Das and Anmol Nailwal;
  - 3. Sandeep Shikhar's 'Treadmill', in an adaptation, directed by Jagriti Pandey and Shrey Chowdhry.

These plays are still being worked on and are expected to go into performance in June 2022.

- \* Credit for keeping the society functioning smoothly in these difficult times (both in on-line form and, from mid-February 2022, in on-site form) must go to its student Office Bearers, Harshini Misra (President), Abhipsito Das and Janavi Chawla (Secretaries).
- \* Along with the Office-Bearers, Third Year members of The Players, Jagriti Pandey, Hariom Naik, Sarthak Datta, Deepak Sawhney, Manan Sachdeva, Ujjwal Dipankar Gautam and Sahil Sehrawat provided able leadership.

The Second Year members have had a difficult time with their first year in the society having been virtually wiped out, and appreciation is due to Maitri Banthia, Anmol Nailwal, Abhishek Nailwal, Shrey Chowdhry, Arjun Sethi, Devansh Tiwari and Anmol Chopra for their focus and commitment to the work at hand.

The discipline and hard work of several First Year students such as Bimalesh Yadav, Abhishrut and Sanskriti Panda must also be noted.

2 May 2022

(Rudrashish Chakraborty)
Staff Advisor